New Members Join Habitat’s Board

Lancaster Lebanon Habitat for Humanity announced the appointment of four new members to its 2022 board of directors, including new leadership to its executive team.


New to the board are: Christopher Boyd of Johnson Controls; Turnier Esperance, Jr. of Fulton Bank; Jennifer Koppel of Penn Medicine Lancaster General Health; and Chris Smith of YMCA Camp Rocky Creek.

The board officers for 2022 will be Christian Recknagel, TAIT, who will serve as Board Chair; Amy Dellinger, Brownstone Real Estate, Vice Chair; Fred Cluck, Heck Construction, Treasurer; and Dante Swinton of Comcast will continue in the role of Secretary.

Habitat board members who are continuing their tenure include:

  • Tene A. Darby, PA Health Management
  • Wayne Gongaware, Retired
  • Carolyn Haskell, WellSpan Philhaven
  • Ryan McCreary, Benchmark Construction

The Board made updates to its bylaws including some titles. The President and Vice President of the Board are now known as the Chairperson and Vice Chairperson, officially. Also, the role of Executive Director, which is held by Andrew Szalay, was formerly Executive Director and Chief Operating Officer in the bylaws. The position has also been updated to now be President and Chief Executive Officer.

“These changes to the bylaws may seem inconsequential, but they make Habitat more contemporary with other nonprofits and Habitat affiliates of its size,” explained Wayne Gongaware, Chair of the Governance Committee that lead the effort to update the governing documents. “And the title changes for the Board leaders and Andrew reflect the roles that they play in the organization.”

Leaving the board after completing their tenure are: Gary Gaissert, Pleasant Valley Communities; Adrienne Squillace, S&T Bank; Mike Monteiro, Benefix; and Dee Cook, Lebanon County Youth Advocate Program. We’re grateful for the leadership and support they lent to our affordable homeownership mission over the years.